Adventures in Saugatuck

Last Wednesday, bright and early, I took my boyfriend on a secret road trip. I had the directions in my hand and told him which roads to take as he drove and we made our way to the other side of Michigan to the little city of Saugatuck.

Processed with VSCO with e7 presetProcessed with VSCO with e7 preset

We stopped at a cute old-fashioned bakery and munched on our donuts to wake us up. Traffic was nonexistent and thanks to a good road trip classic, the Alphabet Game, we were in Saugatuck before we knew it!

My plan was to take Matthew to a neat trail I saw online called Mount Baldhead. I figured it would be an easy nature trail that we could climb, but when I got there I was very surprised to see a 300 step staircase that led up into the trees.

Processed with VSCO with e7 presetProcessed with VSCO with e7 presetProcessed with VSCO with e7 preset

I’m not going to lie I had to stop about 5 times while making my way up these steps because I am that out of shape, but stopping to enjoy the view was beyond enjoyable! You could see the port and the gorgeous lake houses as well as the top of all the trees. It was incredible!

Once we made it to the top of the stairs, we started heading down some sand dunes that led straight to Lake Michigan!Processed with VSCO with e7 presetProcessed with VSCO with e7 presetProcessed with VSCO with e7 presetProcessed with VSCO with e6 preset

Lake Michigan was a little cold, but after a long hike up those steps and down those sand dunes, the water couldn’t have been more refreshing. A storm was coming in so there were white caps crashing into the shore and Matthew and I spent forever jumping into the waves and letting them carry us. Soon the rain came down and I felt like it was God joining in on our fun.

But soon, our tummy’s were telling us we needed food so we gathered up our things and made our way back up the sand dunes in the rain. I must say that walking uphill on sand is much more difficult than you would think, my legs are still a little achey haha!

Processed with VSCO with e7 presetProcessed with VSCO with e7 preset

Here we are back on top of Mount Baldhead catching our breaths before we head back down!

I quickly looked on Pinterest to see what places looked good to eat and we decided on a lake-side bar and grill that had great reviews: The Red Dock Cafe

Processed with VSCO with e6 presetProcessed with VSCO with e7 presetProcessed with VSCO with e7 preset

We walked across a dock to a tiny, but very bright, yellow and red shack that was covered in knick-knacks! Every inch of this place had something else to look at and the food there was amazing for anyone who loves Chicago style hotdogs or pulled-pork!

Processed with VSCO with e7 presetProcessed with VSCO with e6 presetProcessed with VSCO with e7 presetProcessed with VSCO with e6 preset

We walked through downtown Saugatuck/Douglas and stopped in the quirky art galleries and vintage junk yards but soon it was time to head back home to reality, but not before a quick ice cream stop!

So, if you’re ever in Michigan and love a good nature walk, I really recommend Mount Baldhead! If you know any other cool places in Michigan or even Ohio/Indiana, let me know because I’m always looking for a new adventure! Also, thank you all so much for 200 followers! It really means the world and I truly appreciate it.

xoxo,

Karrah

IMG_2079     IMG_2078     IMG_2080

 

One thought on “Adventures in Saugatuck

Leave a Reply

